रविवार, 31 अगस्त 2008

No list of Jallianwala victims with MHA

CHANDIGARH/AMRITSAR:According to information received through the RTI Act, RC Nayak, deputy secretary, ministry of home affairs, FFR division stated vide his letter number 5/35/2008 FF(P) dated August 14 that “FFR division of the ministry does not maintain any list of martyrs of the Jallianwala massacre”। He stated that the freedom fighters and the martyrs of India’s freedom struggle were covered under the Swatantrata Sainik Samman Pension Scheme, 1980, and their eligible dependents, including widows, widowers, unmarried and unemployeed daughters, etc।, were eligible for pension and some other facilities। Some of the other movements like the Khilafat Movement (1919-1923), Army Samaj Movement in erstwhile Hyderabad state (1947-1948), Royal Indian Navy Mutiny (1946) and Nankana tragedy of February 1920 have been included under this pension scheme। The British government on June 15, 1921, had constituted a committee headed by A Langley, commissioner, Lahore division, which had Diwan Bahadur Raja Narendra Nath, member of legislative council, Maulvi Muharram Ali Chisti andChaudhari Mohammad Amin, advocates in high court and members of legislative council, and Bakshi Tek Chand, advocate in high court, as members of the committee, which was to decide on the compensation to be paid to the families of persons killed and injured and those who had suffered loss of property at Jallianwala। DC KS Pannu, whose office holds the relevant record of that time, stated that the committee had ordered compensation according to age and annual income of the martyr, which ranged from Rs 4000 to Rs 20,000 per family। If the compensation paid to the martyrs was valued in terms of gold, the same came between Rs 20 lakh-Rs 100 lakh, he added.

0 टिप्पणियाँ: